“I used to make long speeches to you after you left. I used to talk to you all the time, even though I was alone. I walked around for months talking to you. Now I don’t know what to say. It was easier when I just imagined you. We’d have long conversations, the two of us. It was almost like you were there. I could hear you, I could see you, smell you. I could hear your voice. Sometimes it would wake me up in the middle of the night, just like you were in the room with me. Then, it slowly faded. I couldn’t picture you anymore. I tried to talk out loud to you like I used to, but there was nothing there. I couldn’t hear you. I just gave it up. Everything stopped. You just disappeared. And now I’m working here. I hear your voice all the time. Every man has your voice.

Paris, Texas (1984) | DIR: Wim Wenders

Leave a Reply

