MDA3300: Treatments

I’ve always struggled with treatments. I’ve searched the internet to find out how their supposed to be done, I’ve seen numerous ones but everything left me more confused. All of them saying there isn’t one particular way to write one. Thus, I failed to write treatments for anything I was scripting; instead noting rough outlines and general ideas of the story, themes and characters.

However, writing my dissertation project and Monster, I has forced my hand into writing more concrete treatments. Though, movie outline’s post about treatments really helped – providing me with the necessicites for every treatment. Furthermore, the outline given by Elhum in class, similar to the movie outline post massively helped, and now I kind of enjoy them. I get to note down extensive detail for ideas and characters and make little notes for myself when it comes to the actual screenplay.

Basic Elements:

  • A Working title
  • The writer’s name and contact information
  • Length & Format
  • Target audience – USP (Unique Selling Point – if you’re a director, why should you be the one to direct a film)
  • A short logline
  • Synopsis
  • Introduction to key characters, character developments and relationships
  • Narrative outline-Act 1 in one to three paragraphs. Set the scene, dramatise the main conflicts.

~ Act 1 in one to three paragraphs. Set the scene, dramatise the main conflicts.

~ Act 2 in two to six paragraphs. Should dramatise how the conflicts introduced in Act 1 lead to a crisis.

~ Act 3 in one to three paragraphs. Dramatise the final conflict and resolution.

  • Visuals: images, subjects, moodboard

Granted I don’t use all of these in the treatments I write at the moment, but I’m less confused than I was before. Plus, most of my ‘Visuals’ is situated across all my electronic devices – I intend to upload them all on here, one day.

Leave a Reply

