My bestie and I broke up, but then I got her back. Here’s how

Welcome to Besties Week! We’re kicking off the release of our first HelloGiggles book, A Tale of Two Besties, with an epic celebration of friendship and stories about friendship. Read an excerpt of the bookbuy a copycatch us on our cross-country book tour, and share your photos from our events by tagging us @hellogiggles #ATaleofTwoBesties.

In the meantime, join the party right here. All week long, our contributors will be sharing stories, essays and odes to their very own partners-in-crime. Read, laugh, cry (because you’re laughing so hard) and share with your bestie!

Steph and I were inseparable. I know you probably think that you and your best friend are inseparable, but Steph and I gave new meaning to the word. We were rarely ever apart, staring freshmen year of college right up to the fall semester of senior year. Come senior year, I just expected us to be together forever no matter what.

For both of us, college wasn’t really the “best time.” We were ready to GTFO. Steph actually found an out that fall semester. She was offered a spiffy job on the other side of the country, and I knew she was seriously thinking about taking it, even though she was still a few credits shy of graduating. Steph told me she could take the remaining classes online, and it sounded like a good idea. But I didn’t want her to leave me. I had always assumed we would graduate together and enter the real world together, too. I know I told her this a few times, and she nodded like she understood and the topic was always dropped. (Honestly, I also really thought it was super risky to take the job, and I told her that, too)

Steph put the idea to duck out of college early on the back burner. Or, so I thought. Honestly, I don’t even remember the events that led up to our epic, screaming fight in the middle of the dining hall’s concourse. I just know that Steph made it clear to me — whether by accident, or curtly intentional — that she was taking the job, and I couldn’t stop her. She was leaving me behind.

And me, being the always cool, calm, and collected person I am, I responded rationally to her decision.

JK, I bugged out.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

